top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Character Interview: Savvy Macavoy


Book/Series: “Smashed: A Savvy Macavoy Story”

Occupation: Private Investigator

What is your full name?

Sunshine Rainbow Savvy Macavoy. Everyone calls me Savvy (I prefer it) but my brothers and father call me Sunshine.

Where do you live?

New York City. Manhattan.

In three words, describe yourself.

Unique. Hippie-sh (Strick’s words not mine). Smart

Good versus evil.

I don’t think persons are inherently evil or good. It’s also not just about nature versus nurture. It’s taking your intelligence, or lack of, and how you react to it. Some people are very smart but only look to do harm. Some people lack education, and still wish to do harm, and of course, vice versa.

Tell me a little bit about your family.

I’m the straight sheep of the family. I have six brothers, all gay, and they each have a unique name.

My oldest brother is Cloud dancer. He now runs one of the communes in North Dakota. Then, it’s Rain, but he likes people to called RJ. Midnight is an Army Major, and now works for a recruiting office here in the city. Friend, yeah, that’s his name. Friend lives in Florida, and the last I heard about him, he was running one of those on-the-beach bars. Breeze is a LAPD cop. And Romeo lives in Paris with his husband, Jacques. My mothers, Sunny and Regina were killed in a plane crash. My biological father is Harry. He own’s Capone’s Pub at the end of the block.

What is the most important thing in any relationship?

Trust. I’ve learned to go with my gut on whether or not to trust people. That’s how I met Strick. I was immediately connected to him.

Who is your best friend?

Leonard Davis. He runs my office and does all the office work, but he could be a lawyer, just didn’t want to take the bar exam. We grew up in the same commune.

Where were you born?

North Dakota. A commune community.

Who is the person closest to you? How would that person describe you?

I think Leonard is the closest to me, he knows me. Strick is still getting to know me.

Do you have a sense of humor and how would you describe it?

I like to think so, but I think because of how I dress and act, some people think that I’m a joke, until they get to know me.

Do you have any vices?

I used to smoke. I used to gamble. Now, I guess I just drink, sometimes too much, and my favorite poison is Whiskey.

What is your strongest trait?

Trusting my gut and doing what I feel, what I know is right.

What is your weakest trait?

Some say it’s that I drink too much. Maybe. I say that I swear too much. I use my favorite F word (Fowl). My mothers used to tell me not to swear and if I had to, to use a word that would replace it, so I did.

What is your favorite drink (nonalcoholic)?

Coffee. I drink gallons.

What’s your favorite alcoholic drink?

Whiskey.

What’s your favorite snack food?

I have a sweet tooth, so it’s those glazed donuts or crawlers.

Favorite music genre and artist?

Bob Dylan. His music always spoke to me.

Biggest regret

I don’t have regrets. If I think I’m gonna regret something, I don’t do it.

Happiest moment

I have several. Being reunited with Leonard, and meeting Strick. I hope there will be more to come.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be?

I would love to meet Winston Churchill. Not sure why, but sitting in a room with him, having a conversation, and listening to his voice, that would be something.

*****

Savvy appears in the book “Smashed: A Savvy Macavoy Story

Author note: Currently working on a new story for Savvy “The Relic”

0 comments
bottom of page