top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Old Story New Read: Passionate Retribution by Amy Shannon


Book 1 of 3 in the Passionate Retribution Series

#OSNR is Old Story New Read is a new set of promotions for my book that I wrote and have published years ago, but to gain new readership. I'm introducing my "old" stories to new readers, and hope that other authors will follow the same.

Synopsis

Ex- Detective Carly Edwards, recovering from a horrifying attack, is determined to bring her attacker to justice - especially when the police prove to be of no use. With the help of friends, she begins to reconstruct her life. As the past collides with the present, Carly is determined to make the alleged attacker pay for his crime. Suddenly, love appears out of two different directions and she needs to decide. As events and emotions play havoc in her mind, she fears losing control. Soon, friends and family are being injured or killed, and she becomes more determined than ever to get retribution. But is the price too high to pay? Will it cost Carly her life? Or her friend’s lives?

Excerpt: "Partner, you need to forgive yourself. None of that was your fault. It's been six months. Don't you think you should give yourself a break?"

"I don't know how. I just don't know how. If I was awake, I could've stopped him."

His voice rose slightly."You need to stop this! You're blaming yourself for the attack and blaming yourself for being knocked out. I know how bad he hurt you. I can't stand seeing you suffer like this. Carly, I care so much about you. You're my partner and I want my partner back. I need my partner back. Please, try to help yourself, so I can help you. It's a damn good thing you weren't awake. After what he put your body through, you do not need to remember every single blow he inflicted on you."

"I don't need to remember. I see the scars every single day. How can I not blame myself? I let my guard down."

"You have to get someone to help you realize it's not your fault."

"Elliot, my husband left me because I was NOT strong enough. Can you imagine what Ted felt when he found my battered and bloodied body in the middle of the bedroom? That's why he left me."

"You're not responsible for Ted. He obviously didn't love you enough to help you. I was there. I took care of you. You don't owe Ted anything. Stop feeling guilty over Ted leaving you! He doesn't deserve you!"

"The problem is more that I don't deserve anyone. I really don't blame him for leaving. I know he just loved me enough only for me to take care of me," she turned to the window. "At least that's finally over."

"What do you mean?"

"I got the divorce papers.And lucky me, I was honored to receive a good-bye note from Ted. Wasn't that sweet of him?" she asked sarcastically.

"I'm sorry, Love. I just want to help you. Before I can, you need to help yourself. Carly, when's the last time you cried?"

"I don't cry!" she spat, as she turned toward Elliot.

Characters: Carly Edwards Derek Waters Peter Barker Elliot Marshall Tyler Mathison Robin Anderson Abby Smithers Leo Travers


0 comments
bottom of page