top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Old Story New Read: Shattered Pages by Amy Shannon


#OSNR is Old Story New Read is a new set of promotions for my book that I wrote and have published years ago, but to gain new readership. I'm introducing my "old" stories to new readers, and hope that other authors will follow the same.

Synopsis: Lincoln McLaren is an eccentric mystery author who lives in a big house on the hill. Known to his neighbors as the creepy recluse, he keeps his distance from the public and relies on his long-time housekeeper and his latest assistant. His world is turned upside down when a serial killer starts using his novels, as a murder map. Not everyone understands his ways, especially his comfortableness with his own nudity. One woman, who desperately wants to get close to him, is willing to do take him as he is, if only he'd let her. Link reevaluates his life and his relationships as more bodies are dropping, close to home. Will he revert to his old self and have a nervous breakdown or will he be able to keep his sanity, as he becomes their number one suspect?

Excerpt: LINK SAT DOWN at his typewriter as Owen walked into the office. "Um, sir," he said.

"What is it, Owen?" Link said.

"First, you need to get dressed."

"I'm dressed."

"Boxer shorts and one green and one black sock are not dressed," Owen said. "You need shirt and pants."

"I don't want to wear that," he said.

"Sally told me that I am taking you to the doctor," Owen said.

"Oh, right, I forgot," he said. "It's too late. I can't go."

"It's not too late. Your appointment is at one," Owen said.

"Sally said eleven," Link said.

"I thought you didn't remember," Owen smirked.

"Um, I just remembered that I forgot?" he raised his eyebrows.

"Get dressed or I'll have to get Sally," Owen said.

"Oh, all right. I'll go but I won't like it."

"I'll be waiting," he said.

"What car are we taking?"

"Which one do you want?"

"The sedan," he said. "The black one. Who's driving? Where is my driver?"

"Sir, you don't have a driver and I'll be driving."

"You have a license?" Link looked at him.

"Sir, what's wrong?'

"Nothing. I'm just tired," he said. "I'll get dressed. What should I wear?"

"Sally put your clothes on your dresser," Owen said.

"Oh, that's good," he said, as he walked out of the room.

Owen followed behind him to the entryway and watched as he walked up the stairs. Sally walked into the entryway. "Owen, what's wrong?"

"Something is not right," he said. "I don't know what. He asked me if I had a driver's license. He asked me where his driver was."

"He needs this appointment," Sally said, as Link came down the stairs. "Sir, your shirt is not buttoned."

"I didn't button it yet," he said. "Where are my socks?"

"On your feet," Sally said. "One black and one green."

"Oh, is that all right?" he said.

"Yes, at least you are wearing two socks," Sally said, as he made it to the bottom of the stairs. "Sir, are you all right?"

"Yes, I'm fine. Are we ready to go?"

"Yes. Let me get my coat," Sally said.

"You're coming?" Link asked.

"Yes," she said. "Owen is driving, but I'm coming along. I want to make sure you go in and talk with Dr. Lyons."

"I'll behave," Link said.

Sally walked toward the closet and pulled out her coat and Link's coat. "Put this on, sir."

Link put on his coat without another word and followed Sally and Owen out of the house.

Link sat in the waiting room with Owen sitting on one side and Sally on the other side. "I hate waiting," he whispered.

Sally handed him a magazine. "Here, read this," she said.

He took the magazine from her hand. "Oh, look, man finally landed on the moon," he said.

"Very cute," she said. "It's not that old."

"Of course not. This has great Christmas recipes."

"What's wrong with that?" Owen asked.

"Christmas was seven months ago and this is from 1952. I always wanted to know how to set a table for a hungry man."

"You are something else," she said. "If you don't like that one, read another one."

"You can use my e-reader, if you want," Owen said.

"Electronic doohickeys ... no thanks. Eventually, you know, those will become obsolete. Nothing like turning a real page made out of real paper. I'll tell you..."

Sally put her hand on his. "Sir, relax."

"Yeah, don't want this empty waiting room or these empty chairs to think I'm crazy," he muttered.

Characters: Link McLaren Owen Stamos Sally Emerson Charlie Ramsey Dr.Rudolph Lyons Gerry Adams James Callahan


0 comments
bottom of page