top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Old Story New Read: Smashed: A Savvy Macavoy Story by Amy Shannon


Book 1 of 2 in the Savvy Macavoy Series

#OSNR is Old Story New Read is a new set of promotions for my book that I wrote and have published years ago, but to gain new readership. I'm introducing my "old" stories to new readers, and hope that other authors will follow the same.

Synopsis: Savvy Macavoy is not your typical private investigator. Her braids, jeans, and sandals always give off a unique impression on her clients. Savvy has lived an interesting life and with her best friend, Leonard at her side, loves living her life, her way. She isn’t ashamed of her childhood spent on the hippie commune, but has an estranged relationship with her six brothers.

Savvy is attracted to her whiskey but tries to maintain being professional when she’s working for clients. Savvy thought everything in her life was under her control, until she met Strick, a veteran forced into the homeless life on the streets. When he crosses her path, without thinking or forethought, something about Strick draws her into him, and she immediately helps him.

Savvy tries to focus on her case, enlisting Strick’s help, to search for the missing late husband of wealthy widow Angelica Margolis. Strick and Savvy try to solve the mystery of “The Missing Harold.”

Excerpt: Savvy headed out the back door of the building to the parking lot, when she turned around quickly at the sound of a crash. "Who's there?"

"Sorry to startle ya', ma'am." His voice said from behind the dumpster.

"What're you doing?" Savvy opened the door to her car and dropped her backpack on the seat. She closed the door and walked toward the dumpster. "Come outta there."

The man, dressed in a worn, dingy green army jacket, torn dirty pants and a dark blue wool cap pulled over his head, slowly limped out rom behind the dumpster. "Uh, sorry, ma'am, I was just hungry. I'll get movin'."

"Wait." She sighed, looking into his soft brown eyes. "You were in the service or you just wear that?"

"No, ma'am, this is mine." He said. "I was in the army."

"First, don't call me, ma'am." She smiled.

"I'm sorry." He straightened his posture. "I didn't mean to trespass. I was just looking for food and trying to stay warm."

"It's eighty degrees out."

"Still cold for me, sometimes. I have this chill that doesn't want to go away. Oh, I'm sorry."

"Don't be. Can I help?"

"Only if you have something to eat."

"Not cash?"

"Can't eat money and most of the places, even if I had money, wouldn't let me come in."

Characters: Rainbow Sunshine Savvy Macavoy Deklan "Strick" Strickland Leonard Davis Angelica Margolis Harry Capone Tim Lawrence


0 comments
bottom of page