top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Character Interview: Deklin Strickland


Book/Series: “Smashed: A Savvy Macavoy Story”

Occupation: Army Veteran / PI assistant

Where do you live?

New York City

Nickname?

Strick

In three words, describe yourself.

Honorable. Loyal. Trustworthy.

Good versus evil.

Yes, there is pure evil out there and its in the form of terrorists and dictators

Tell me a little bit about your family.

I am an only child, and my parents are dead. My family now consists of Savvy and Leonard, who brought me in to their lives, no questions asked. I loved my parents, my step-father adopted me when he married my mother. I never met my biological father, and my mother never talked about him, much.

What is the most important thing in any relationship?

Trust. You need to know that you can count on the other person.

Who is your best friend?

I lost my best friend in Afghanistan, but my closest friends are Leonard and Savvy.

Who is the person closest to you? How would that person describe you?

I think that Savvy is the closest to me, her and Leonard. She would probably say that I’m brave, honorable or resilient. Leonard would say that I am eager to learn. I think all traits are good traits.

Do you have any tattoos? (where and of what?)

Yes, I have three. I have an old army tattoo of the unit I was assigned to. I have Savvy’s name on my chest, and barbed wire around my left thigh, covers an old scar.

Do you have any disabilities or handicaps?

Sometimes my knee or leg act up as I was injured in the war. That’s all I’m gonna say about that.

What is your strongest trait?

Loyalty

What is your weakest trait?

I may ask too many questions or speak my mind without thinking.

What’s your favorite topping on a pizza?

I like plain cheese on a pizza. I don’t overdo it with toppings or sauce

What is your favorite drink (non alcoholic)?

Coffee. We seem to drink gallons of it at the office.

What’s your favorite alcoholic drink?

It used to be beer, but Savvy got me into the good whiskey.

What’s your favorite snack food?

Chips. Plain chips.

Favorite music genre and artist?

Led Zeppelin. Old rock n roll.

Favorite movie

I like the original M*A*S*H movie as well as the television shows.

Pet peeve

Liars and cheats.

Nervous habit or trait

I’m nosey. I don’t mean to be, but I’ve learned to always to keep my ears open, so I eavesdrop when I don’t mean to.

Biggest regret

Believing my ex girlfriend was gonna wait for me

Happiest moment

Meeting Savvy.

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be?

I never met my grandfather, and he was a war hero. He died at Pearl Harbor. My mother never even met him. I’d like to meet him.

Deklan Strickland “Strick” first appeared in Smashed: A Savvy Macavoy Story.

Author note: A new Savvy Macavoy Story is coming soon "The Relic: A Savvy Macavoy Story"

More details to follow

0 comments
bottom of page