top of page
  • Amy Shannon

Life's Hindering Hope


Volume 11 in the MOD Life Epic Saga

Life's Hindering Hope will be released 3/4/19

Blurb: A horrible tragedy so close to the heart, sends Dr. Raina O'Roark into a catatonic state. After waking, she has to deal with not the just the aftermath of the pain, but how to continue to look forward to the future. When her depths of souls, eat away at her insides and create new feelings, will she be able to interpret what they mean.

When Jim starts to feel useless as her father, his best friend allows him to release himself. Back in action, Alex and Jim, race to save their daughter from being a product of a new FBI experiment.

A new, deep, love lost allows for Raina to start her life over. New and denied feelings finally come to surface, as Raina faces her unknown future.

Will her greatest loss take over her life? Or will a new feeling give her some closures on the pain?

Excerpt: RAINA LEANED BACK in her office chair and put her feet on the desk. She gazed lovingly at the photos on her desk. She picked up the one of Marjorie, Billy, and Alexis. “Oh, little ones, give me the strength to do this all over again. Mommy misses you so much,” Raina whispered. She looked up when there was a knock on the door. “Terry?” she smiled. Terry Markum smiled brightly at her. “Hello, Doc. I’m not disturbing you, am I?” he asked, as he combed his hand through his dark hair. “Oh, no. Please, come in and sit down,” Raina set the picture back on her desk. “I was just taking a breather from the lab.” Terry sat down and leaned forward. “How are you feeling?” “Better. What brings you over here? I haven’t seen you since I came home. What is it? Cop business?” “I’m sorry I haven’t seen you in a while. I’ve been really drowning myself in my work. I actually, came here because of you. Doc,” he took a deep breath. “I heard that you needed a bodyguard.” “Well, I’ve been told that I should have one. I just haven’t really figured out who. Mark, Evan, and Mike are so busy in the CSU lab,” Raina ran her hand back and forth over her forehead. “Well, I’d like to offer my services,” Terry beamed. “You? Aren’t you busy at the precinct? I know you’re a co-captain with Matt.” “Well, yeah, but with Matt coming back…” “He’s coming back?” Raina asked. “I didn’t know that.” “Yeah, he’ll be working a desk, but he’s the real Captain. Doc, they only gave me the job because there were no other openings for me. But, that’s what happens when you die, you lose your job,” he smiled. “And, you don’t mind? I’m sure there are better things you could be doing…” “Doc, I want to do this for a lot of reasons. Reason number one, you’re a wonderful woman. I’ve watched you grow up from a remarkable child to an intelligent, strong woman. Reason number two, I owe you my life. You’ve saved me so many times. Please, let me do this for you.” “If you want, I guess. I would like it to be inconspicuous, though. You’d need to help in the lab. I know you’re not a doctor or anything, but I would need to use your hands and your mind.” Terry smiled. “So, I’ve got the job?” “Yeah, you can start whenever you want,” Raina stood up and hugged him. “Thank you, so much.” He touched her face lightly. “No problem. I better go tell your father.” “He didn’t put you up to this, did he?” “No, we discussed it and I jumped at the chance to do it,” Terry smiled. “There’s no way I’m going to let anything happen to you,” Terry headed out of the office. Raina looked up and saw Mike, Evan, and Mark standing in the doorway. “Boss?” Mike said. “Guys, come in, please. Did you need something?” she asked, as they sat in the chairs in front of her. “We were just worried about you. We know you’re back. We heard Terry was going to be your bodyguard. Is there something we should know?” Evan asked. “You mean you don’t know?” “We’re always the last to know,” Mark said. “Yeah, right,” Raina smiled. “Well, here goes…”

~~~

Book before this one? Life's Healer

The book after this one? Life's Binding Ties (vol 12) to be re-released in 2019

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Birthday to Contrary Measures

Contrary Measures was originally released May 30th 2006 under the name Amy Witkowski. Since its original release, the book was rebranded, updated and released on October 1 2017 under the name of Amy S

bottom of page