top of page
  • Amy Shannon

FREE Kindle Book: "Fractured Tears: A Struggle for Justice" by Amy Shannon


"Fractured Tears: A Struggle for Justice" by Amy Shannon will be FREE on NOVEMBER 2, 2019 on Amazon.

This book is a fictionalized version of my experience with domestic violence. The date marks 14 years since my life changed forever. I still suffer PTSD and physical pain from that date, but I also look at it in a way that not only changed my life, it improved my life, for both me and my boys. It's all about survival and living, and yes, it can also be haunting, and a reminder. This book is going to be FREE on Kindle on November 2. It is not just because it is almost my story, but

because I want people to be aware that even with October ending, there should always be domestic violence awareness. Not every one leaves. Not every can leave. I didn't understand that until it happened to me. So, take the time, enjoy the book and share it with someone you know. Who knows, it may just be able to help someone.

Synopsis: Anna Coleman gave her husband one more chance for them to work on fixing what was wrong with their marriage. Ted Coleman used that chance to try to kill her. Anna didn’t give up or give in, she fought to survive, and she fought for justice, as it became a personal struggle. All she wanted was for the justice system to properly punish Ted for what he did to her, and it took a lot of strength, perseverance, and support.

Read how Anna struggles to fight for justice, and deal with her personal issues from having been betrayed and abused by her husband of 13 years.

This is a fictionalized version of the real life events of the Author.

Warning: This book contains scenes of domestic violence and may trigger PTSD or not be for some readers.

Excerpt: Day 2

Anna stared at her reflection in the glass, as the darkened sky streamed only a glimmer of moonlight through the splashing raindrops. She shuddered slightly at the sound of footsteps behind her. “Yes,” she said to her reflection, her eyes only meeting the woman’s eyes in the window. “I’m Talia. Talia Jeffers. I’m the hospital social worker,” the woman explained. “Number 16?” “I guess,” Anna shrugged, knowing as long as she remained in the hospital, she was private patient 16. “May I sit down?” “I guess,” Anna shrugged again, still not looking at the woman. “I came here to talk with you,” Talia said. “What are you looking at?” “I’m trying to remember,” she sighed. “You don’t remember what happened?” Anna turned abruptly toward the woman, her appearance caught Talia by surprise. Anna’s swollen face was completely covered in shades of blue, purple, black, and red, with a slight yellowing around her throat. “I remember that! I’m trying to remember what I looked like yesterday morning,” she gulped heavily. “I’m sorry,” Talia sighed. “Are you even supposed to be out of bed?” “I slid over to look out the window.” Anna scooted herself from the chair over to the bed. She lifted her legs with her hands as she lay them on the bed. “Why are you here?” “As I said, I’m the social worker. I’m here to talk to you. You are probably feeling ashamed …” she began her default social worker speech. Anna put her hand up, “Uh, stop. You don’t know how I’m feeling.” Talia patted Anna’s hand. “Have you even cried yet?” her tone emitted pity, which annoyed Anna. “I must say that I’m in a lot of pain, where I can actually feel, but no, I haven’t cried. Why should I? It wasn’t my fault.” “It wasn’t?” Talia raised an eyebrow. “You think it was?” Anna’s voice quivered slightly. “That’s not what I mean,” Talia sighed heavily. “I guess I’m doing this all wrong. You’re not the typical victim.” “Survivor,” Anna said. “You’re right, but you should know that there is no typical anything, especially victim.”

***


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Happy Birthday to Contrary Measures

Contrary Measures was originally released May 30th 2006 under the name Amy Witkowski. Since its original release, the book was rebranded, updated and released on October 1 2017 under the name of Amy S

bottom of page